Finalists announced for 2019 Public Oral Health Awards

Public Oral Health Awards

Dental Health Services Victoria (DHSV) has announced the finalists for this year’s Public Oral Health Awards. The Awards celebrate public oral health professionals, volunteers and organisations that demonstrate outstanding dedication to improving the health outcomes of the Victorian community.

“It’s wonderful to see so many talented people recognised for the meaningful work done to improve public oral health across Victoria,” DHSV CEO Dr Deborah Cole said.

“We are thrilled that we have the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of a remarkable group of oral health champions.”

The finalists for The Star of Public Dentistry Award recognises staff in the Victorian public dental sector that have gone above and beyond their roles to improve oral health. The finalists are:

  • Aisha Mansfield, DHSV
  • Narelle Rowe, Maryborough CDP
  • Dr Ramini Shankuma, Monash Health

The Oral Health Project of the Year Award recognises public oral health projects that bring value to patient care and improve oral health outcomes. The finalists are:

  • GEGAC Dental Outreach, Gippsland & East Gippsland Aboriginal Cooperative
  • Improving oral Health of Immigrant Primary School Students, Monash Health
  • Oral Health Educators partnering with Patients, Ballarat Health

The Public Dental Clinic of the Year Award recognises DHSV agencies and teams working to improve the health outcomes of Victorians. Entrants demonstrate how they bring value to patient care and how they improve the patient and staff experience. The finalists are: 

  • Flying Doctor Dental Clinic, Flying Doctor Service Victoria
  • Smile Squad Proof of Concept Agencies, Smile Squad
  • Oral Health Program, Your Community Health

The Community Oral Health Champion Award recognises individuals for their contribution to the Victorian public oral health sector, through a volunteer capacity or in partnership with DHSV staff. The finalists are:

  • Lauren Milloy, East Grampians Health Service Ararat
  • Anita Carter, Waverly Valley Aged Care

The winners of the Public Oral Health Awards will be announced at the 2019 DHSV Annual General Meeting on Thursday 28 November.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here